Top listeners:

skip_previous skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
  • cover play_arrow

    Black Diamond FM Listen Live

Music News

Daft Punk – Random Access Memories (First Listen)

todayMay 14, 2013


I have been playing ‘Get Lucky’ by Daft Punk on repeat since I first downloaded it, as soon as I played it on my Sunday show I knew it was going to be popular when even Aydan Butt liked it!

‘Random Access Memories’ has the funky guitar I have grown to love on ‘Get Lucky’ throughout the album, with a distinctly disco sound. You could easily place this album in the mid 80s the age of the synthesizer.

The opening track “Give Life Back to Music” kicks the album off in style moving nicely into the chilled track ‘The Game Of Love’ “Giorgio by Moroder” follows starting with a 80s synth loop then some out of the blue rock guitar chucked in for good measure. From track 5 the guest vocalists appear including ‘Julian Casablancas’ from ‘The Strokes’ in ‘Instant Crush’ ‘Loose Yourself To Dance’ is the first track to feature the vocals of ‘Pharrell Williams’ who also appears in ‘Touch’ and the hugely successful ‘Get Lucky’

Following ‘Get Lucky’ A huge orchestral fanfare heralds the arrival of ‘Beyond’ almost in an ‘Electric Light Orchestra’ style track. Strangely the next track has odd water sound effects and echo to introduce it. ‘Fragments In Time’ is another stand out track, it isn’t over the top, but does feature great vocals. ‘Contact’ finishes the album off with several loud guitars to bring in the big finish you have been expecting from the rest.

It’s pretty hard to pick a favourite track from this album, ‘Get Lucky’ is an obvious choice but ‘Fragments In Time’ and the opener are all good tracks. It’s safe to say the ‘pre order’ button has already been pushed.

As of Monday the 13th of May the album has been made available to stream online via iTunes and a couple of other sites. If you want to own a copy you will need to wait until the 20th of May (which cant come soon enough)

To find out more about the album visit their website

Written by: Chris Mackrell